Life and other things

I know this site is for my reviews for non-mm titles…and you can probably tell I haven’t done one yet. There really is a simple explanation for that, too.

I don’t have a spare moment to read anything outside of MM, simply because the Genre is gaining popularity like it’s no one’s business. More and more readers are becoming writers and published one’s at that, be it by self publishing, or by traditional e-publishers, they are being published. And I’m not lying when I say this, there are so many publishers and so many new releases, Top2Bottom can’t keep up. I have a good number of reviewers, and three steady ones. That leaves very little to no time to read outside of the MM genre.

And then there’s the tiny small fact that I’m also a writer, as is my partner on T2B who thankfully has taken care of the site and reviews, and emails to allow me time to “get” my head together.

Recently my personal life became a Lifetime Movie. I’ve been coping on and off with anxiety and panic, with a dash of depression for a tad bit too long and it caught up with me early in the year. I’ve been working hard on controlling it and working through it, but it’s not something that happens overnight. So, in dealing with that, more issues in my personal life arose and it set me back even more.

For now, I’ve stopped reading. I am getting River of Tears ready for its final edits and it will be published by Silver Steampress. Also, Lethal Obsession: Deserted will be under going edits when we get back from New Mexico, so that should be out early next year. As far as writing goes, I’m working on it. I have a YA short coming out with MLR Press in an anthology I put together with a group of other writers, that will be out early next year as well. My next project I’m almost half way into and I’m excited over it. I’m trying to work it around an odd job and my grandkids. Not an easy task at all.

So, though things are rough at the moment, I don’t expect it to be for long. Have to take things one day at a time. I don’t write under deadlines for a reason…my work is icky when I do. I have to fully feel it before I can apply it. Makes perfect sense to me.

Basically, don’t give up on me yet. I’m on my way back.

Leave a Reply

